John Burnside

Biography of John Burnside (1955 – )

John Burnside
John Burnside (1955-)

John Burnside (born on 19 March 1955) is a British Poet and novelist from Dunfermline, Scotland. He studied English and European Languages at Cambridge College of Arts and Technology and now he teaches at the University of St Andrews. His first collection of poetry, The Hoop, was published in 1988 and won a Scottish Arts Council Book Award. Other poetry collections include Common Knowledge (1991), Feast Days (1992), winner of the Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize, and The Asylum Dance (2000), winner of the Whitbread Poetry Award and shortlisted for both the Forward Poetry Prize (Best Poetry Collection of the Year) and the T. S. Eliot Prize. The Light Trap (2001) was also shortlisted for the T. S. Eliot Prize.

John Burnside is also the author of a collection of short stories, Burning Elvis (2000), and several novels, including The Dumb House (1997), The Mercy Boys (1999), The Locust Room (2001) and Living Nowhere. His poetry collection, The Good Neighbour (2005), was shortlisted for the 2005 Forward Poetry Prize (Best Collection).

Biography By:

Poems By John Burnside


Agoraphobia (No Comments »)
Landscapes (No Comments »)
Septuagesima (No Comments »)
Snake (No Comments »)