Vernon Scannell

Biography of Vernon Scannell (1922 – 2007)

Vernon Scannell
Vernon Scannell (1922-2007)

Vernon Scannell was an English author and poet. He was born in 1922, served in the Gordon Highlanders in World War Two and was a professional boxer and a teacher before becoming a full-time writer in the 1960s.

He published novels, criticism, four autobiographical prose books and over a dozen books of poetry. He received the Heinemann Award, the Cholmondeley Poetry Prize and is an Honorary Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature.

Biography By:

Poems By Vernon Scannell


A Case Of Murder (No Comments »)
Death In The Lounge Bar (No Comments »)
Incendiary (No Comments »)
Juan In Middle Age (No Comments »)
The Men Who Wear My Clothes (No Comments »)
The Terrible Abstractions (No Comments »)
They Did Not Expect This (No Comments »)
Where Shall We Go? (No Comments »)
Wife Killer (No Comments »)

From "Ten Contemporary Poets" compiled and edited by Maurice Wollman, Harrap 1963

A City Remembered (No Comments »)
Ageing Schoolmaster (No Comments »)
Lesson In Grammar (No Comments »)
Makers And Creatures (No Comments »)
Schoolroom On A Wet Afternoon (No Comments »)
Silver Wedding (No Comments »)

The Very Best of Vernon Scannell, Macmillan Children's Books 6 April 2001

Nettles (No Comments »)